We are "slaves" of marketers !!!

This is would be one of my most favorite blog i guess...

When I always think of something which we currently use, I realize everything are of not our own interest. Say, mobile, a crazy piece of **** which drives everyone crazy. Years ago we werent used to this piece of technology. Started as easy way to communicate with our dear ones, now we cannot survive without out it.

I completely agree, we need convenience, we need technology, we need advancement. But do we need in this pace?
If I look back, I started with plain old solid Nokia mobile, then Sony walkman series , then Sony slide one, then htc smart phone, then Sony smart phone, now Nexus 5... I dont know when I will change my mobile again.
But one thing is clear to me, each phase when I change my mobile, it was either i get carried away by my peer latest mobile or cheesy and lovely advertisement that drives me to get a new one. Both scenarios are the trap of marketers..

I really love marketers, because they rule the world. They are the one who decide what food should I use or what technology should I use.

Couple of days before one of my professor was saying about how in India FMCG companies market their product. Around 50 years before, we weren't used to shampoo, just a soap for whole family, this was predominant situation in most middle class. But, this smart FMCG, slowly invaded out selves in bathroom with different soaps like moisturizers, flavored etc.., with shampoo for dandruff free, break free etc, with conditioner. Apart from these FMCG shifted from bathroom to grooming, started with face powder, then face cream, lip balm etc... Trying to get each and every penny from our pocket (this is ultimate goal for a marketer)

I'm pretty sure, these companies would have had plan of these products sequence (from soap to conditioner..) years ahead, but still they took so many years to reveal these product slowly to the market. Just that to make sure they have control on us, to keep us slave forever..

In both cases above, in mobile and FMCG, marketer just does his job. He had been recruited for it. We lived happily, 50 years before and even now. Just that our saving percent is dropped now. That time average Indian saving was around 50% whereas now 35%.

So, what is whole point here, though people think they are smart enough in taking decisions either in buying a mobile or house, end of the day winner is Marketer. We would think we saved 50 penny being very smart, but marketer is smart enough to persuade our decision to make us to buy the product.

I love marketers, tomorrow you and me may be successful marketers. Whereas we shouldn't forget we are again a slave of some other marketer. We are slave for him. This vicious circle continues forever.